Delhi NCR, Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India

The ninth edition of BIOFACH INDIA together with INDIA ORGANIC 2017 concluded at India Expo Mart Limited (IEML), Greater Noida, Delhi-NCR on 11 November 2017 with a resounding success. The three-day exhibition witnessed an overwhelming response from around 10000 visitors which included trade visitors, delegates as well as farmer groups from India and all over the world.

For the first time this year the event was held concurrent to the 19th Organic World Congress (OWC) of IFOAM Organics International, a global event dealing exclusively with organic farming focused on the theme: “An Organic World through an Organic India”.

Shri. Ram Nath Kovind, Honourable President of India congratulated the organizers and participants and stressed the importance of turning organic. In a message to the Organic Farming Association of India (OFAI), the principal host of the OWC, the Honourable Prime Minister of India, Shri. Narendra Modi expressed his happiness at India being chosen to hold this mega event and stated, “This meeting will enable global organic farming movement leaders and all its stakeholders to deliberate on key issues of the sector.” He concluded by sending his best wishes for the success of the event and for the global organic farming movement to help the world in achieving the true meaning of sustainable development.

The Organic World Congress along with BIOFACH INDIA was inaugurated by Shri Radha Mohan Singh, Honourable Minister for Agriculture and Farmer’s Welfare, Government of India on 9th of November at India Expo Mart Limited (IEML), Greater Noida, Delhi- NCR, India.

Other eminent dignitaries present at the inauguration included Shri Pawan Chamling, Honourable Chief Minister of Sikkim, Shri. Surya Pratap Shahi, Minister of Agriculture, Uttar Pradesh, Smt. Menaka Gandhi, Union Minister for Women and Child Welfare, Govt. of India, Shri. V.S. Sunil Kumar, Minister of Agriculture, Govt. of Kerala, Mr. Na Yong Chan, Mayor of Goesan County, South Korea, Shri. Ashish Bahuguna, Chairman, Food and Safety Standards Authority of India (FSSAI), Shri. Somnath Poudyal, Honourable Minister for Food Security and Agriculture Development, Govt. of Sikkim, Shri. Devendra Kumar Singh, Chairman, Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority (APEDA), Smt. Rita Teaotia, Secretary Commerce, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Shri. Jagdish Prasad Meena, Secretary, Ministry of Food Processing Industries and many others.