Akhilesh resigns from Karhal assembly seat in UP after election from Kannauj in LS polls

Lucknow, June 12, 2024.

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav on Wednesday resigned from his Karhal assembly seat following his election to Lok Sabha from the Kannauj constituency.

Vidhan Sabha Secretary Pradeep Kumar Dubey told PTI, “Akhilesh Yadav as well as the newly elected party member from Faizabad Lok Sabha seat, Awadesh Prasad, have quit the membership of the UP Vidhan Sabha.”

Prasad was elected to the UP assembly from Milkipur constituency on a Samajwadi Party (SP) ticket. He sprang a surprise by defeating BJP’s Lallu Singh in Faizabad, which includes the temple town of Ayodhya.