New Delhi, 9th July 2019.

Sarvanakumar Subramaniam and Hardevsinh Jadeja have emerged as winners of the Castrol Super Mechanic Contest 2019 in a glittering finale organized by Castrol India, the leading automotive and industrial lubricant manufacturing company in India. Sarvanakumar Subramaniam from Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu was announced the winner in the bike category while Hardevsinh Jadeja from Morbi, Gujarat won in the car category. K Jayavel from Chennai, Tamil Naduand Kishor Kalalpa Gatade from Kolhapur, Maharashtra were announced the runners-up in car and bike category respectively.
The third edition of the Castrol Super Mechanic Contest saw record participation of over 1.27 lakh mechanics across the country, with 40 of them competing in the final stages. This helped them gain exposure to extensive knowledge about automotive technologies and the lubricant industry, along with testing their mettle and skills. The winners of Castrol Super Mechanic Contest were felicitated by Kedar Apte, Vice President – Marketing from Castrol India Limited. For the first time ever, audiences across the country will witness Castrol Super Mechanic as a reality show that will not only give the mechanics a chance to be featured on television, but also showcase their life journey during the course of the episodes.
This year, Castrol India also conducted master class sessions in 20 cities which skilled over 6000 mechanics in a curriculum that was endorsed by Automotive Skill Development Council. They were trained on new-age vehicle diagnostics, digital tools for next-gen vehicles and BS VI technology among other automotive topics.
Speaking about the contest, Omer Dormen – Managing Director, Castrol India Limited said, “The Castrol Super Mechanic Contest has purposefully driven towards providing the mechanic community with latest industry knowledge, and more importantly respect and pride of association towards their profession. It is heartening to see mechanics not just excel at their jobs, but also scale their ambitions to newer heights through this competitive platform. Witnessing their progress and success validates our commitment and efforts at Castrol India to empower the mechanic community, which keeps India moving.”
Commenting on the occasion, Ashish Sehgal, Chief Growth Officer, Zee Entertainment Enterprises, said, “ZEE as a network has always believed in mainstreaming extraordinary achievements. Joining hands with Castrol India for the Super Mechanic Contest has been a wonderful experience. The program is aimed at recognizing talent of car and bike mechanics on national television and enable their efforts to keep India moving through skills development. It will be telecast on ZEE Channels across its News & Entertainment cluster and will bring alive the stories of the mechanic community for our audience, something which has never been seen on Indian television.
This year, Castrol Super Mechanic will be aired on various Zee Network channels, including Zee News with leading television personality Ravi Dubey hosting the show. The episodes will be aired weekly, starting July, 2019. The finale event will be telecast on &TV in August 2019. 
Mechanic Sarvanakumar Subramaniam, the winner of Castrol Super Mechanic Contest 2019, said: “It’s taken me three years to earn myself a podium at Castrol Super Mechanic contest. Twice previously I missed out because of small errors but this time, I worked harder and focused on one round at a time. The victory has left me speechless! It’s amazing what Castrol India does for the mechanic community overall, and helping us gain national recognition and respect. They have supported our journey through training and skill development. I firmly believe that making us ready for the future is bigger than any monetary incentive one can receive. It will be my privilege to share my skills and experience of this contest to help my fellow mechanics in future editions of the contest. It’s truly a life-changing event!”
Complete list of winners – Castrol Super Mechanic 2019:
StandingCar CategoryBike Category
WinnerHardevsinh JadejaMorbi, GujaratSarvanakumar Subramaniam,Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
1st Runner UpK JayavelChennai, Tamil NaduKishor Kalalpa GatadeKolhapur, Maharashtra
2nd Runner UpS DharmarajTirupur, Tamil NaduPravesh Kumar RawatBulandshahr, Uttar Pradesh
3rd Runner UpHarpal Ravi KumarJetpur, GujaratParesh Devshibhai ParmarJunagad, Gujarat

Live Updates COVID-19 CASES