New Delhi, May 26, 2021.

1985 batch IPS officer Subodh Kumar Jaiswal was on Tuesday appointed the CBI director.

The high-powered committee, comprising PM Narendra Modi, CJI N V Ramana and Congress leader in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, to select the CBI director had shortlisted three IPS officers — V S K Kaumudi, Subodh Jaiswal and Kumar Rajesh Chandra — for the top post.

A 1985-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of Maharashtra cadre, Jaiswal is currently the director general of the Central Industrial Security Force (CISF).

Live Updates COVID-19 CASES