India squad for T20 World Cup 2024

New Delhi, April 30, 2024.

The Senior Selection Committee on Tuesday picked India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in the West Indies and United States of America starting in June.

In a battle for the second wicket-keeper, Sanju Samson has pipped KL Rahul, while Rishabh Pant has made a comeback to the Indian team after almost fifteen months. The wicketkeeper-batter has been out of cricket since his horrific car accident in December 2022.

Samson has accumulated 385 runs so far in this IPL at a strike-rate of 161.09, and has come across as a transformed T20 batsman. Having blown hot and cold in the past, he has been more consistent with his batting and in a side that is devoid of power-hitters, Samson’s presence could benefit India in the middle-order.

T20 World Cup 2024 players- Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.